Council localization: The Ndop Municipal Council corresponds to the Ndop Central Sub-Division. The Council is one of the three councils of the Ngoketunjia Division of the North West Region. It is about 30km from Bamenda, the Region headquarter of the North West Region, along the Bamenda - Kumbo stretch of the Ring-road. It is bounded to the North by Babessi council East by Balikumbat Sub division, to the West by Tubah council and to the South by the Noun division of the West Region.

Constituent Villages and Quarters of Ndop Council Area: # Village Number of Quarters

The Ndop Council Area is made up of 4 main Fondoms with a total of 71 Quarters which are distributed as follows: (The columns on the right show the constituent villages and quarters of the Ndop municipality):

1 Bamunka 20
2 Bambalang 23
3 Bamessing (Nsei) 21
4 Bamali 18

Historical Profile of Ndop council: Ndop council enjoys the privilege to have been the headquarters of the South Eastern Federation of Native Authorities created by the local administration in 1940. The territory of the South Western Federation included the areas covered by Nkwen, Bafut and Nso. In 1960 the SEF territory was divided into two with the Nso Native Authority cut out of it and in 1961, the Bafut-Ndop Area Council was created. The present Ndop council was created, along side the councils of Babessi, Balikumbat by Presidential decree that created the Ngokentunjia Division out of Ngokentunjia Division Eventually, Bafut and Tubah were taken away and the territory now known as Ngoketunjia Division.

Population Analysis of the 4 the villages: According to the administrative accounts of the council, the population of the Ndop municipality stands at 80,342 inhabitants. From the 1987 census, the population of the constituent villages is projected on a 2.8% National growth rate as seen in the table below:


1987 2007 2012
Male Female Total Male Female Total Male Female Total
Ndop Urban 7,339 6,804 14,143 12,750 11,820 24,570 14,637 13,570 28,207
Bambalang 5,254 5,948 11,202 9,128 10,333 19,461 10,479 11,863 22,342
Bamali 2,569 2,997 5,566 4,463 5,207 9,670 5,124 5,977 11,101
Bamessing 4,771 5,445 10,216 8,288 9,459 17,747 9,516 10,860 20,376
Bamunka 2,887 2,969 5,856 5,015 5,158 10,173 5,758 5,922 11,680
Total 22,820 24,163 46,983 39,644 41,977 81,621 45,514 48,192 93,706
Percentage 48,6 % 51.4 %   48,6 % 51,4 %   48,6 % 51.4 %  

Ethnic Groups in the Municipality: The inhabitants of the constituent villages of Ndop Municipality are from the great Tikari tribe which is the origin of most villages in the grass field areas of the Northwest Region. There are principally four clans in the municipality that correspond to the four villages of the council. These clans are; the Mbaw Yakum now known as Bambalang who migrated from Tikari around Adamawa; the Nsei clan, mostly known as Bamessing, is also of the Tikari ethnic group. They migrated from Refoum in the Adamawa Region in the 14th century at the close of the Kotoko Empire, which marked the end the Empire of Western Sudan; the Bamali clan who are descendants of a group of seven people who migrated from a place called Ndoupeh near Fomban in the Noun Division of the West Region; the Bamunka people who originated from Ndobo around Foumban. Other ethnic groups include a strong Hausa population who are spread in the four villages of Bamunka, Bamessing, Bamali and Bamabalang and the Mbororo who are mainly cattle breeders living up the hills. A Large population of the mbororos are found in Bamessing, and Bamunka which are closer to the hills which enable them to carry out their livelihood activity of cattle rearing. These Hausas and Mbororos do not live in separate communities in the villages. They spread out and integrated in the various village communities.

Mini-agric Show

Bambalang Dam

Mini-agric Show


Mini-agric Show

Clay Products

Copyright © 2024 - Ndop Municipal Council